Sunday, April 20, 2008

Inhotim Museu

Inhotim presents parts of its collection in exhibition spaces which are dedicated to semi-permanent displays, lasting approximately two years. The current exhibition, in place since October 2006, focuses on artists with a significant presence in the collection, in an international and multigenerational blend. In the Galeria Praça, there are individual spaces dedicated to Albert Oehlen, Ernesto Neto, Franz Ackermann, Iran do Espírito Santo, Janet Cardiff and Jarbas Lopes. A series of artworks focusing on the themes of the body and architecture is found in the Galeria Mata, with works by Damián Ortega, Janine Antoni, José Damasceno, Laura Lima, Luisa Lambri and Valeska Soares. The Galeria Lago is divided into four major exhibits by Artur Barrio, Chris Burden, Hélio Oiticica and Neville D’Almeida and Navin Rawanchaikul & Rirkrit Tiravanija. And works by Anri Sala, Larry Clark, Michel Majerus, Nuno Ramos, Paul McCarthy and Tobias Rehberger are part of the collective exhibit in the Galeria Fonte.The Pavilhão Cildo Meireles displays on a permanent basis the installations Desvio para o vermelho (1968-2006), Glove Trotter (1991) and Através (1983-89), the latter shown for the first time in Brazil. The
exhibit also has a permanent display by Tunga, True Rouge (1998) and Lezard (1993), as well as outdoor sculptures by Cildo Meireles, Dan Graham and Olafur Eliasson. As part of its program to develop projects focused on the local community, Inhotim presents in the
outdoor space of the Galeria Praça the work Rodoviária de Brumadinho (2005), named after the local bus station, by New York-based artists John Ahearn and Rigoberto Torres. This work is a representation of the city’s everyday life, with its customs and its characters

No comments: